Mr. & Mrs.

30 Jun

I don’t think I can document all the amazing things about our wedding day in just one post. So this is going to be a very general post & I plan on documenting all of the little details of the day over the next few weeks.

Our wedding day was incredible & we owe it all to many awesome people! Without our parents, grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins, close friends, church families, and so many others this day would not have been everything it was. We want to thank each and every person who had a part in our special day. Thank you for helping us plan all the little details, for giving us ideas, giving up your time, having a patient spirit, and being so understanding! Because of you our wedding was beautiful, we had so much fun, and we were able to relax and enjoy it all!

We got married at 5:00 so most of the day was spent getting ready, trying to calm our nerves, hanging out with the bridal party, taking pictures, and more nervous jitters! I don’t think either of us were nervous because we were scared-more of an excited, anxious, and giddy nervousness. (Although the amount of people in that sanctuary did contribute a little :) ) But I think we were both so glad that the day had arrived and we were going to be starting a new chapter of our lives, that none of that mattered.

My mom, Grandma, and several sweet volunteers did all the flowers for the wedding. The center arrangement at the altar, pew arrangements, table decorations, bridesmaids’ bouquets, mother’s bouquets, & my bouquet were all made by these amazing people. And they were BEAUTIFUL! My Grandma also took care of all the food at the reception in our church’s Welcome Center. Speaking of my Grandma, I wore one of her bracelets twisted in with one of my Nana’s bracelets for my something borrowed. My something blue was my shoes (heels & sandals for the reception), something old was my baby bonnet made into a handkerchief wrapped around my bouquet held by my Great-Grandma’s pin. Oh, and my something new was my dress and my sister made my garter with the wedding date on it & I also wore an MSU one!

Another person we couldn’t have done without was our AMAZING photographer, Robby Followell. He did a great job capturing all the fun moments of the day! He was able to keep a large wedding party on track and go back and forth from the Groom’s & Bride’s rooms before the ceremony making sure to take pictures of both sides. (Calvin & I didn’t see each other until I walked down the aisle). He also took great pictures of the details that Calvin & I weren’t able to pick up on too. If anyone needs a photographer contact him, http://www.followellfotography.com

During the ceremony we lit a unity candle while my Uncle played a song on the piano he had written for us. He is an excellent writer and musician and I’m so grateful he gave us such a memorable gift! It was such a special part of the ceremony and something I’ll remember forever.

After the ceremony we greeted our guests at the reception in our church’s Welcome Center. Calvin & I stood in a receiving line with our parents and were so overwhelmed by how many people had come to share in our special day. As we left the church, everyone gathered outside to blow bubbles as we left & it was so fun!

From there we headed to Memphis WaterWorks where our post-reception/after party was held. WaterWorks is fountain & outdoor retail store by day and super awesome event place by night! It has huge double red doors leading into the building & then another set leading out to the patio/garden area. All of the food was inside & there was a tent & tables outside where we spent most of our time dancing! We had so much fun dancing and hanging out with all our friends & family for the rest of the night! And everyone that came gets props for sticking through the heat with us :) Here, we also cut the cakes, had the bouquet and garter toss, & danced all night!

Here is a picture of my awesome cake with the wooden ‘M’ cake topper made by my Grandpa.

When it was time to go, everyone threw birdseed & I’m pretty sure my Dad made sure to cover Calvin & I in it! We stayed in a hotel in Memphis that night & left at 7:00am the next morning for Jamaica! More about our wonderful honeymoon in another post…

Thanks again to everyone who made this day so wonderful! We love you all!

2 Responses to “Mr. & Mrs.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2010 Year End Review « Calvin & Amanda - January 2, 2011

    […] Getting married at the end of May […]

  2. Celebrating Three Years! | Calvin & Amanda - May 31, 2013

    […] If you want to see more pictures and read all about our day, go here. And if you need a wedding photographer, we loved working with Robby […]

Leave a Reply

